The Press Room‎ > ‎NMIVA News Wire‎ > ‎

Countdown to Zonal Phase of CAVB Continental Beach Volleyball Cup

posted Jul 7, 2011, 7:22 AM by Laurie Peterka
Mauritius in action during the sub zonal phase in Namibia early this year
Reprinted from FIVB e-News, July 4, 2011:

Cairo, Egypt, June 29, 2011- The Zonal Phase of CAVB Beach Volleyball Continental Cup is set to begin in Free Town, the capital of Sierra Leone from July 3 to 5 nine countries taking part in both men's and women's categories in Pool A of the competition.

The competition will be held as a single elimination with consolation format. The winner of each country v country match will be the best of five and composed of five matches. The golden set is played if the two counties draw after four matches.

The seeding of the team in the single elimination draw will depend upon the points of the ranking in the sub zonal phase that was completed earlier this year.

The hosts will be joined by Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Conakry, Liberia, Mauritania, Morocco and Senegal.

The zonal phase will comprise two rounds: in the first round, countries will be divided into five zonal pools, from which the top four qualify for the next phase involving 20 countries; in the second round, those 20 countries will be divided again into four pools of five teams, with the top two teams in each pool qualifying directly for the Continental Cup final.

The CAVB announced earlier this month the schedule for the first round zonal pools which will be as follows:

Pool A (July 2-6, Sierra Leone, 9 countries): Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Guinea Conakry, Liberia, Mauritania, Morocco, Senegal, Sierra Leone.

Pool B (August 15-19, Ghana, 11 countries): Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Niger, Nigeria, Togo, Algeria. 

Pool C (August 4-8, Gabon, 11 countries): Angola, Cameroon, Central Africa, Chad, Congo Brazzaville, RD Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Libya, Sao Tome, Tunisia.

Pool D (July 26-30, Kenya, 13 countries): Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda.

Pool E (July 14-18, Mozambique, 11 countries): Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

The second round of the zonal phase will be organized in October following distribution of the four pools to one of the qualified teams from each pool.

 Additional links
   Download high-resolution photo
   FIVB home page
   Beach volleyball home page